Notification for ASDAN centres on Covid-19 can be viewed here



DfE recognises ASDAN centres as leaders in character education


The Department for Education has named this year's recipients of its Character Awards – with several ASDAN centres among the 27 winners.

  • The Elizabeth Garrett Anderson School
  • Tapton School
  • The Mirfield Free Grammar and Sixth Form
  • The Swyne Park School
  • Emmanuel College
  • Percy Hedley School
  • Bolton Lads and Girls Club
  • Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School

The Education Secretary, Nicky Morgan, said that each of the schools named were "leading the way" in developing character traits such as resilience and grit, ensuring pupils are prepared for future work or study and are able to make a positive contribution to society.

"Teaching character not only benefits children at school – it also plays a vital role in ensuring young people leave school prepared for life in modern Britain," she said.

"Investing in the character of young people will not only help them succeed academically, but also improve their job prospects and help them bounce back from setbacks.

"Teachers across the country are doing excellent work to promote character. Today’s award winners are leading the way, and I hope other schools can learn from their successful approaches."

Three schools and organisations in each of nine regions across England were selected for the £15,000 prize. A further award of £20,000 will be made to the overall winner at a ceremony in March. A full list of winners can be found at the DfE website.